Has This Ever Happened To You?

I think there ought to be an unwritten Code of Conduct for a few of the things that get my goat.  You know what I mean: things that fall under the auspices of Do No Harm.
 
Gossip. What if no one did it?  What would we talk about? 
 
Try it.  For one day.  Don’t talk about your best friend, your partner, your interaction with your ex-friend.
 
Every time I get whalloped it’s because I thought I was right.  Or smarter.  Or more informed. 
 
Disaster in the making.
 
Every time I practice any variation on the theme of one-upmanship I get my comeuppance or come to see that I was a complete moron with an inflated sense of my own importance or capacity to influence or help.
 
You’d think I’d remember my two favourite axioms: Do No Harm and Go Where You’re Invited. 
 
But, like I said, I’m Stupid.
 
Think about it: has there ever been a time when you had that Happy Smug Feeling where it really didn’t ultimately lead to separation and divisiveness? 
 
That’s right.  Every bloody time.
This entry was posted in Stream of Consciousness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

